This article gives more detail on the different permissions that can be applied to tab types and what that allows invited teams to be able to do within those tabs.
Permissions are applied at a tab level only for checklist tabs. Once the permissions are set up, all teams given access to that tab will have the same level of permissions.
Turning on 'allow' access gives a view only of this tab to invited teams, they will not be able to edit, upload files, or amend any of the tasks.
Turning on 'allow' access AND the permissions.
This allows the invited teams to make amends to the tasks already setup, for example, being able to re-assign tasks to other team members, change due dates, attach files, leave updates.
The invited teams cannot add or delete tasks, and they cannot amend the permission for that tab.
Permissions are applied at a tab level only for document tabs. Once the permissions are set up, all teams given access to the tab will have the same level of permissions.
Turning on 'allow' access gives invited teams view only access to this tab. The invited teams cannot download or upload any files and can only view documents within the platform using the online document viewer.
Watermark: If 'watermark all documents ' is also on, invited teams can view the documents within the online viewer and a watermark will be applied.
Print: Turning on 'print' but not 'download' allows invited teams to view the document within the online viewer and print a PDF version from there. If 'watermark all documents' is also on, the invited team can print a PDF version with the watermark applied.
Download/Upload: Turning on 'download' and 'upload' means that the invited teams can download and upload documents to this tab. Remember, if 'watermark all documents' is still on any files downloaded will be converted to PDF first in order to apply the watermark at point of download.
Download & Save as PDF: Turning on 'download' and 'save as PDF' will allow invited teams to download from this tab and files will be converted to PDF but with no watermark applied.
The other permissions allow the invited team more control within this tab. They can add folders, rename folders, delete folders or documents, re-organise folders and files and check-out and check-in documents for editing.
Data room tab
Permissions are applied at a tab and folder level within data room tabs. This means access can be controlled for teams by folder.
Within tab permissions for data room tabs, there is an additional menu allowing room owners to set permissions for teams at a folder level.
This allows the room owners to give access to all, or only some of the data room folders, and different permissions to teams on those folders.
When first turning on 'allow' access to a data room tab, the default permission is view only with watermark applied.
This means that invited teams can view documents within the deal room, via the online document viewer, and a watermark will be applied to that online view.
Download: Turning on 'download' means that the users will be able to download the files from the data room. Remember, if 'watermark all documents' is turned on, the files will be converted to PDF on download in order to apply the watermark.
Download & Save as PDF: Turning on 'download' and 'save as PDF', but not 'watermark all documents' means that invited teams will be able to download the files, and they will be converted to PDF on download, but no watermark will be applied. In this case, if a file has been uploaded in word or excel, it will convert to PDF when the invited team downloads it.
Download only: Turning on 'download' only allows invited teams to download the documents in the same format that they were uploaded in, for example, an excel file will download as excel.
Example Permission Scenarios
It's important to note the difference in the permissions applied, the type and file format of the documents uploaded and how the room owner wants the invited teams to be able to access those documents and download them.
For example, company confidential information can be restricted to view only with watermark. This means invited teams cannot download these files, they can only view them online and the watermark is applied within the online viewer.
For NDA's, expressions of interest, you can allow download of these in the original format, so that invited teams can edit, sign and re-upload these documents with their changes applied. In this example, room owners would give download and upload permissions to that folder only.
For financial information, typically uploaded in excel/spreadsheet format, the invited teams would want to be able to download in the original format, so the download only permission would be applied to those folders.
There are additional permissions within the data room tabs that allow the invited team additional control such as creating folders, renaming folders and documents, and deleting folders and documents.
Typically, a client team may be given additional permissions on a staging data room tab when they are uploading the documents for review.
Otherwise, permissions will likely only be ‘download’, ‘save as PDF’ and with or without a watermark applied.
For any additional support on tab permission please contact us at [email protected]